, ,

What are the 5 ADLs?

5 ADLs

The 5 ADLs involve basic self-care routines that we perform every day. These involve:

  • Personal hygiene – bathing, washing hands, washing hair, grooming, oral, and nail care
  • Feeding – the ability to feed oneself
  • Dressing – the ability to choose and wear the proper clothes 
  • Toileting – the ability to properly use the bathroom 
  • Transferring – the ability to change positions and walk independently. 

Understanding the level of assistance your loved one needs in each of these categories helps determine the amount of care needed but it also helps determine whether the person is eligible for state and Federally-funded government help. 

See how to help someone with their ADLs.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Post

What is the Difference Between ADL and IADL?

Next Post

How to Help the Person with ADLs?

Devoted Guardians'
Response to COVID-19

Devoted Guardians is actively monitoring the progression of the coronavirus, COVID-19, to ensure that we have the most accurate and latest information on the threat of the virus. As you know, this situation continues to develop rapidly as new cases are identified in our communities and our protocols will be adjusted as needed.

While most cases of COVID-19 are mild, causing only fever and cough, a very small percentage of cases become severe and may progress particularly in the elderly and people with underlying medical conditions. Because this is the primary population that Devoted Guardians serves, we understand your concerns and want to share with you how our organization is responding to the threat of COVID-19.

We are following updates and procedures from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) State Department of Health, local and county authorities, the Home Care Association of America and other agencies and resources. Our response and plans may adjust according to the recommendations from these organizations.