, ,

What are the 12 Activities of Daily Living?

12 Activities of Daily Living

Activities of daily living can be divided into twelve categories, five of which fall under ADLs, and seven are instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 

The categories of activities of daily living are:

  • Personal hygiene – bathing and grooming
  • Feeding
  • Dressing
  • Continence management (toileting)
  • Transferring – the ability to change position and walk independently
  • Transportation and shopping
  • Mental support and companionship
  • Managing a household
  • Preparing meals
  • Managing medications
  • Managing finances
  • Communicating with others

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Post

When You Should Provide ADL Care to Persons with Dementia?

Next Post

How Do You Pass Time in Old Age?

Devoted Guardians'
Response to COVID-19

Devoted Guardians is actively monitoring the progression of the coronavirus, COVID-19, to ensure that we have the most accurate and latest information on the threat of the virus. As you know, this situation continues to develop rapidly as new cases are identified in our communities and our protocols will be adjusted as needed.

While most cases of COVID-19 are mild, causing only fever and cough, a very small percentage of cases become severe and may progress particularly in the elderly and people with underlying medical conditions. Because this is the primary population that Devoted Guardians serves, we understand your concerns and want to share with you how our organization is responding to the threat of COVID-19.

We are following updates and procedures from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) State Department of Health, local and county authorities, the Home Care Association of America and other agencies and resources. Our response and plans may adjust according to the recommendations from these organizations.